Home > Reflections > “Hey man, what happened to your blog?”

“Hey man, what happened to your blog?”

If I had regular readers, that is no doubt the question they would be asking me. But I don’t. So they’re not. But in case anybody was thinking it, here’s some sort of update, if for no other purpose than to tie up some loose ends.

Regarding my New Year’s Revolutions for last year: Yeah, almost none of that happened. I ran 10km in under an hour (dressed in a Santa suit, no less) and wrote around 20,000 words all told. I don’t know how many books I read but it was certainly less than eighty. I still cannot drive and do not have a licence. I wisely refrained from making any resolutions this year.

The World Atheist Convention did have a third day that I never got round to writing about. PZ versus the Islamists, Maryam Namazie versus the Islamists,  lunch with Rebecca Watson the day after Elevatorgate, dinner with PZ Myers in Eddie Rocket’s, that sort of thing. It was a fun day. It might have been a good read.

I finished reading all the Booker Prize longlist before the award ceremony. I disagreed strongly with the shortlist but not with the eventual winner. I mostly found the whole experience an expensive way of quickly reading a lot of books I had little interest in. Not at all a bad experience but probably not something I’ll repeat (unless I become a Booker Prize judge, in which case I think it’s expected).

So what have I been up to? After several false starts, I am running on a regular basis and completed another 10km today (sans Santa suit, of course). I’ve been compiling and editing Atheist Ireland‘s weekly newsletter since January, and have begun writing a novel for which I’ve agreed a publishing deal.  (Of a sort. More on that later.) And of course I have a family (yay!) and a full-time job (boo!).

I turned 35 today (hence the mid-life crisis run and blog post), and I’m generally OK about it. I didn’t have a lot of choice in the matter. In the general spirit of self-improvement that tends to poke at me on such milestones I’ve decided that for each of the 60 months until I turn 40 (yikes!) I’ll try to develop one good habit, ditch a bad one and do a once-off thing that needs doing or should be done. I don’t think I have 60 bad habits or things that I need to do so I expect to be pretty much perfect somewhere in late 2013.

For June, I’m planning to write 300 words a day, give up watching random TV and, in a nod to the ever-looming spectre of maturity, complete a mortgage application.

Some of my writing may make it on to this blog so keep obsessively refreshing the page or just follow me on Twitter.

  1. Chris Jensen Romer
    31 May, 2012 at 23:24

    Happy Birthday! :) Yeah do keep writing when you have time: blogs are for fun, not to be a choie but always good to read your stuff,

  2. Sarah Boland
    18 June, 2012 at 12:30

    I like your blog Derek. Just found it keep it up and good luck with the writing too. I too am writing a book but procrastinating a lot.

  3. 4 August, 2013 at 09:59

    I’ll just content myself with reading your comments, tweets and perhaps bump into you on Google Plus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

CretinDoesDating

Gimme all yer lovin'

Scepticism, feminism, and queeristry with an Irish bent. Expect occasional knitting, cookery and roller derby. It's all in bits, like.

Robinince's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 387 other followers

