Home > Rants, Reading, Reviews > What the Book?!

What the Book?!

Man Booker Prize

Image via Wikipedia

Boy, was I wrong! But not as wrong as the Man Booker Prize judges. Here’s the shortlist they’ve just announced:

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt
Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan
Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
Snowdrops by A.D. Miller

Most notable: no Hollinghurst! What I thought was easily the best novel of those I’ve read so far didn’t make the cut. I’m delighted to see The Sisters Brothers there; it was a fun read and deserves to be recognised. Jamrach’s Menagerie too was enjoyable and is worthy of inclusion. I’ve recently started reading Half Blood Blues and so far it seems good. Pigeon English failed to impress me, and I’m surprised to see it there. It must have hit a chord with the judges that it failed to do with me. What really shocked me was the inclusion of Snowdrops. I really don’t get it. I thought it was dull, predictable and poorly written. I identified with the protagonist only to the extent that slogging through this least thrilling of thrillers felt like enduring an endless Russian winter.

Oddly, despite only having finished six books, I’ve read five of the shortlist and have already made a considerable dent in the remaining one. This makes the challenge of reading the shortlist trivial and I expect to have it done by the end of the week. The original challenge of completing the longlist now seems a little more daunting as there’s less incentive. I do intend to read them, though, if for no other reason than to find something worse than Snowdrops.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 18 October, 2011 at 16:05

Leave a Reply

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

CretinDoesDating

Gimme all yer lovin'

Scepticism, feminism, and queeristry with an Irish bent. Expect occasional knitting, cookery and roller derby. It's all in bits, like.

Robinince's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 387 other followers

